Muhlenberg College

Allentown, Pa.
Mule Sports Daily Mule logo
Tuesday, November 13, 2001
Fall Scoreboard | Winter Scoreboard
October...  | November 1  2  3  4  5  6-7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21-25  26  27  28  29  30  | December...


Five members of the Muhlenberg College men’s soccer team have been named to the All-Centennial Conference squad.

Selected to the first team were midfielders Greg Ramos and Ben Long.

Greg RamosRamos, a senior, moved up to the first team after receiving honorable mention last year. He played both midfield and back during the season and served as a team captain. Ramos scored his lone goal of the year in an important CC win against Franklin & Marshall.

Ben LongLong, a junior, was the Mules’ third-leading scorer with 13 points on five goals and three assists. Two of his goals were game-winners, including the final score in a 3-2 win against Ursinus that clinched a CC playoff spot. Long is the team’s active leader with 19 goals and 45 points for his career.

Senior forward Chris Rowley earned conference honors for the first time in his career, making the second team after recording two goals and three assists. He finished his career with 10 goals and 10 assists. Sophomore midfielder Evan Smallwood also was a second-team selection. He led Muhlenberg with four assists and also scored a pair of goals.

Junior back Quentin McDowell received honorable mention. He started every game on a defense that allowed 17 goals in 18 matches and contributed to the offense with a goal and an assist.

After tying Western Maryland for the Centennial Conference championship, the Muhlenberg football team has placed an all-time high 17 members on the All-CC team.

Joshua CarterLeading the way was senior Joshua Carter, who was named to the first team as both a wide receiver and a kick returner for the second straight year. Carter, who caught 41 passes and averaged 24.1 yards on kickoff returns and 12.7 yards on punt returns, also was a first-team kick returner as a sophomore, making him only the fourth player in school history and one of 26 in league history to earn first-team All-CC honors three straight years.

Joining Carter on the first team offense were sophomore running back Matt Bernardo, senior tight end Michael Stankowitz and senior guard Joseph Muccia.

Matt BernardoBernardo, the only sophomore on the entire first team, rushed for 1,038 yards to rank second in the league and tied for the CC lead with 19 rushing touchdowns. He also was second in scoring and fourth in all-purpose yards. After only two seasons, Bernardo already is seventh in CC history with 33 career rushing touchdowns.

Michael StankowitzStankowitz, in his first year on offense after three seasons as a linebacker, was a unanimous choice after catching 19 passes, four for touchdowns. The Mules’ first tight end since 1988 to earn first-team all-conference honors, he ranked 10th in the CC in receiving yards per game.

Joseph MucciaMuccia was a second-year starter on the offensive line who helped the Mules average 366.1 yards and 33.5 points per game, both of which ranked second in the CC. Muhlenberg tied a school record and led the CC with 32 rushing touchdowns and averaged 4.7 yards per carry.

Junior linebacker Beau Sherry and senior free safety Erik Hammar made the first-team defense.

Beau SherrySherry, who received honorable mention last year, was a unanimous selection after recording 60 tackles, including 4.5 for losses. He helped Muhlenberg rank second in the CC in scoring defense, total defense, pass efficiency defense and rushing defense.

Erik HammarHammar tied for the CC lead with seven interceptions, including a conference-record four in one game against Hartwick, and also had six pass breakups. He ranked fifth on the team with 45 total tackles.

Of the Mules’ 10 second-team selections, three were repeat honorees: senior defensive tackle Ian Ximinies (second team in 1999 and honorable mention last year), senior offensive guard Nick Tranguch (honorable mention last year) and junior cornerback Jordan Wright (second team last year).

First-time selections to the second team were: seniors Tyler Cathey (defensive line), Jon-Paul Skarpetowski (linebacker) and Kit Spicer (defensive back) and juniors Justin Hurlburt (center), Justin Jones (quarterback), Alfredo Mercuri (wide receiver) and Christopher Reed (kicker). Junior offensive tackle John Blankenhagen received honorable mention.

Questions or comments? Send mail to
Last updated November 13, 2001