Muhlenberg College

Allentown, Pa.
Mule Sports
Daily Mule logo
Monday, November 14, 2005
Fall Scoreboard |   Winter Scoreboard
<< October 31 |   November 1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  28  29  30  |   December 1 >>


Dan McCall
Muhlenberg’s CC players of the year:
2005 Dan McCall (defensive)
2004 Ryan Peer (defensive)
2003 Kodi Shay (offensive)
2002 Justin Jones (offensive)
2000 Joshua Carter (offensive)
Senior linebacker Dan McCall of the Muhlenberg football team has been named defensive player of the year by the Centennial Conference.

McCall was one of 11 Mules named to the All-Centennial Conference team, including four first-team selections.

In a league dominated by defense, McCall was chosen as the top player after leading the conference in sacks (7½) and tackles for loss (14½) and tying for the lead with four fumble recoveries. He returned two of the fumbles for touchdowns and tied for the team lead with two interceptions. Muhlenberg’s all-time leader with 22½ career sacks, McCall also blocked two kicks, forced two fumbles and broke up six passes.

McCall is the second consecutive Muhlenberg outside linebacker to be named CC defensive player of the year, following in the footsteps of Ryan Peer. He also became the 30th player in the league’s 23-year history to earn first-team honors three times.

Joining McCall on the All-CC first team were seniors Kyle Douglass, Carl Slabicki and Will Corbin.

Douglass was the second-leading receiver in the CC with 42 catches for 608 yards. He led the conference with seven touchdown receptions and was fourth with 86.6 all-purpose yards per game. Slabicki, a center, was the Mules’ most consistent offensive lineman and moved up after earning second-team honors in 2004. Corbin made 51 tackles, including 4½ sacks and 10 tackles for loss, and broke up three passes from his defensive end position.

Junior tight end Stephen Montalto (30 catches for 346 yards) and
Will Corbin Kyle Douglass Carl Slabicki
CC first-teamers Corbin, Douglass and Slabicki (left to right)
senior nose guard Tom Wargacki (36 tackles, eight for loss) were both voted to the All-CC second team for the second year in a row. Senior offensive tackle Michael Leanch earned All-CC honors for the third time in his career, and senior cornerbacks Mike McCurley (seven pass breakups) and Justin Adair (two interceptions, nine breakups) both made the second team after earning first-team honors last year.

Senior free safety Phillip Gasker (67 tackles, team-leading 42 solo) received honorable mention for the second straight year. Senior inside linebacker Mark Bennett, the team leader with 75 tackles, also earned honorable mention.

Questions or comments? Send mail to
Last updated November 14, 2005