Muhlenberg College

Allentown, Pa.
Mule Sports Daily Mule logo
Monday, February 25, 2002
Winter Scoreboard  | Spring Scoreboard
January...  | February 1  2  4  5  6  7  8  9  11  12  13  14  15  16  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  | March...

A weekly look at what’s going on in the Centennial Conference:

Women’s Basketball

Western Maryland won the CC championship with a 66-38 win against Swarthmore, earning an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament. The Green Terror will travel to Scranton for a first-round game Wednesday night. Three other CC schools received bids to the ECAC South Tournament. In Wednesday’s first-round games, third-seeded Swarthmore will host Delaware Valley and No. 4 Franklin & Marshall entertains Johns Hopkins. The top two seeds are Lebanon Valley and DeSales, respectively.

Men’s Basketball

Gettysburg scored three points in the final 2.7 seconds to edge Franklin & Marshall, 50-47, in the CC championship game and become the first team in CC men’s history to win back-to-back titles. The Bullets will host Lycoming in an NCAA Tournament first-round game on Thursday. F&M did not receive an at-large bid, but was awarded the top seed and the right to host the ECAC South Tournament. Other teams in the ECACs are King’s, Misericordia, DeSales, Lebanon Valley and Penn State-Behrend.

Senior Mark Lesko of the Muhlenberg men’s basketball team has been selected as one of 10 finalists for The Jostens Trophy, which honors the Division III basketball player of the Mark Lesko year.

The Jostens Trophy recognizes outstanding players who exemplify the Division III philosophy of the well-rounded student-athlete. Players are chosen not only for their athletic ability but also for their excellence in academic and community service.

Lesko, a communication major and art minor, was named the Centennial Conference player of the year after averaging 19.0 points and 9.8 rebounds and blocking 55 shots for the 19-6 Mules. A three-time first-team All-CC selection, Lesko finished his career eighth on the school’s all-time scoring chart with 1,399 points.

The player of the year is scheduled to be announced this Friday. The other finalists are Joe Corbett (Hobart), Jesse DuPerow (Marietta), Aaron Galletta (Union), Jesse Harris (Simpson), Ryan Hepp (Willamette), Adam Jones (Buena Vista), Colin Tabb (Trinity, Conn.), Rashad Williams (Brandeis) and Kyle Williford (Bridgewater).

Questions or comments? Send mail to
Last updated February 25, 2002